Ceiling Mount Pot Rack

You wouldn’t think hanging a wrought-iron pot rack from the ceiling could turn into a project worth blogging about, but for me it did. Assembling the pot rack was easy enough, where it got a little more complicated was with the hooks. The instructions said ‘hooks included, packaged separately. I didn’t find them. I made a trip to the local helpless hardware store and requested hooks appropriate for hanging a pot rack from the ceiling. What I got was these swag hooks that bent and broke just using two fingers to screw them in. So either I have bionic strength in my fingers or they don’t make good swag hooks anymore. I’m gonna go with the latter. Good thing I didn’t find out how bad these things are the hard way, just imagine if a rack full of pots came crashing down onto the sink!

My DIY solution to flimsy swag hooks?

I got some eye bolts aka large screw eyes of the 2 5/8″ variety, rated for 200# each. The ones I found are zinc coated and so have a bright chrome-like finish. Not very decorative since the pot rack is black. I also got some flat fender washers and some decorative washers of appropriate size and painted everything with two coats of primer and two coats of flat black. It’s a good idea to sand the parts and clean them with alcohol so the paint sticks better. I also left them out in the sun for a day after painting so the finish had time to dry thoroughly. I didn’t want the paint to scrape off too easy.

DIY ceiling hooks

DIY ceiling hooks

Once the parts were ready, it was pretty easy to locate beams in the ceiling using a stud finder and pre-drill holes a bit smaller than the screw. A little soap on the threads helps make installation easier. Do yourself and your loved ones a favor, don’t trust hanging anything more than a fake plant from the ceiling unless going into beams. Drywall was never meant to be a structural element!

 

DIY ceiling hooks

DIY ceiling hooks

I’m pretty sure I could do chin-ups on this pot rack now, but considering the damage or even injury possible if it comes down I think this is a good place to do a little over-engineering.

DIY ceiling hooks

DIY ceiling hooks

My local hardware store had a limited selection of decorative hooks and washers, but you can find all sorts of interesting stuff online. You might even be able to find real heavy-duty decorative hooks if you hunt them down, but there’s a sense of satisfaction in creating something yourself that is both nice and durable.

The finished product!

The finished product!

Total cost: ~$3.50 (not including pot rack)

– Ken Ranous

