GIMP’ing around – updated!

Xbolts

Xbolts

 

Corner Seat

Corner Seat

Microarches + Wood

Microarches + Wood

Strata

Strata

 

 

Typically I use a camera to document a place or event and aim to maintain the look of how it was. Sometimes I apply some subtle effects to echo the feeling of the place ie a mild soften effect around a field of flowers. And then there’s times when I deviate completely from the norm.

I’ve made the transition from Photoshop to Gimp for most of my work. That’s no knock against Photoshop, it’s just a personal choice to go open source. Both applications are fun for playing with layers and masks with some of my results shown here. These are relatively easy to create: First, just pick a quadrant of an image to flip horizontally then flip that vertically to get the symmetry-fractal effect. Next layer another creation and adjust blending and opacity. For me, playing with layer masks is more fun than a video game. It allows one to control the transparency between layers in selective areas and to varying degrees.

 

Thanks for l00kin!

 

— Ken Ranous

 

PS: Thanks to redstuffdan for inspiring me to get creative in post-production again. 🙂

